Manage roles and privileges

Managing access rights is an important part of your projects.

Why manage roles and privileges?

These are the most important reasons to manage roles and privileges

  • Keep things simple for your users
  • Keep confidential information confidential
  • Work with drafts - so work in progress is not shared for instance with participants or the customer

Mindset

Access rights are set on a project basis. This means: access rights you provide for one project don't influence access rights for other projects.

In agile working roles is a key success factor. Users can have different roles in a project. For example, you can be the customer of a project and a participant in a brainstorming-session.

For this reason, we allocate privileges to roles - the privileges being the access rights of the users.

Default roles - will work in most cases...

In almost every project you will have these three roles

  • The customer
  • The organizing team
  • Participants

When you start a new project, these three roles are created and the default privileges for all roles are defined. You can add, remove, rename roles whenever you like. And you can add, remove the corresponding privileges to fit your needs.

The project manager

Many users have access to more than one project (this is the link to your projects: (link to my projects). Enabling the project manager allows your users to keep an overview and get direct access to all the relevant parts of your project.

Default Privileges

Customer

If you add a user with the role "customer" to your project this user will be able to

  • Visit the project manager
  • Visit restricted pages on any website of your project. On your websites, you have public pages (green), restricted pages (orange), internal pages (red)

Participant

If you add a user with the role "participant" to your project this user will be able to

  • Join any lobby
  • Visit the project manager
  • Visit restricted pages on any website of your project. On your websites, you have public pages (green), restricted pages (orange), internal pages (red)

Member of the organizing team

If you add a member with the role "organizing" team this user will be able to do a lot...

  • Create Idea Machines
  • Create Lobbies and delete Lobbies
  • Create Websites
  • Create Guest Lists

Additionally

  • Manage any Idea Machine
  • Manage any Lobby
  • Manage any Website (this includes viewing all restricted and internal content)
  • Manage any Guest List
  • Manage Roles (create, rename and merge roles and allocate privileges to these roles)
  • Manage Community (assign new users to roles)

And

  • Join any Lobby
  • Participate on any stage on any Idea Machine
  • Visit restricted pages on any Website

Creating new roles - merging roles

  • You can create new roles - and grant whatever privileges you like - and merge roles.
  • Use-Cases for new roles include "Newsletter Subscribers", specific types of participants e.g. "Lateral Thinkers", "BrainStore internal organizing team"

Guest lists are great to invite users to get involved in a project

When creating a guest list you can select which roles the user takes, after accepting the invitation.

Good to know

  • When looking at the community overview you can see which user has which roles.
  • When looking at the roles you can see which users have this role - and remove a role. If you created the project and you are a BrainStore partner the you get "Super Powers (tm)". This means you can do anything you want to do. You can even grant super-powers to others!
What happens if you add a new Idea Machine to your project?
What happens if you add a new website to your project?
What happens if you add a new lobby to your project?